At kumkeo, you benefit from working with experts with years of professional experience. You’ll be convinced of the quality of our work with the very first meeting.

If we make a promise, we turn it into reality. We take responsibility for systems from the very first step of our development projects. We develop practical concepts to support you in your project planning and every phase of implementation. We use our solid expertise to work in line with your unique and specific requirements.

We deliver more than just technical services. In addition to providing extensive IT know-how, we rely on efficient, clear communication as one of our strengths in developing our solutions.

Environment recognition: software optimization for laser scanners

The client:
Ibeo Automotive Systems GmbH

Ibeo Automotive Systems is the market leader in the development of high-tech laser scanners for environment recognition in the automotive industry.
Their portfolio of services includes innovative driver assistance and active security systems, such as autonomous driving, automatic emergency brake assistant, adaptive speed control and pre-crash applications.

Our services:

  • Optimize primary Ibeo Laser View (ILV) software
  • Further enhance testing and development tools
  • Develop Ibeo Software Development Kit

The Ibeo Laser View (ILV) software is used to present raw measurement data (“scan points”) and object information for testing and analysis. Our work for this client primarily involved developing algorithms to determine the static environment and available space, and also detect concealed moving objects.

Bild SW

 

The illustration shows a typical traffic situation with the data generated by the laser scanner and the algorithms that run on it. The video screen at the top left shows the scenario from the driver’s perspective. All information in the bird’s eye view perspective is generated from the laser scanner measurement data in real time. The corresponding vehicle is found at the starting point of the coordinate system (intersection point of the red and green axes).

Our work also included implementing a large number of innovations, such as labeling objects, connecting new sensors and converting the CAN interface. After this work was completed, we expanded the testing and development tools for the ILV software and further developed the Ibeo Software Development Kit. This is used as a connecting layer between the Ibeo sensors and frameworks that makes it possible to create independent algorithms.

We implemented this project using C++, C, boost, Qt (OpenGL) and bash scripts. We used Eclipse under Linux with gcc and make for the development environment, as well as Visual Studio 2008/2010/2012 under Windows for both platforms with CMake and make.

“We’ve worked closely with the team at kumkeo since 2011. We’ve always been able to count on the personal advice as well as the reliable, quick service provided by kumkeo when searching for qualified, highly specialized software developers. We greatly appreciate kumkeo’s ability to provide us with developers that not only have the special skills we need, but also work extremely well with everyone else at our company. It’s a great fit for us with our focus on service, customer orientation and state-of-the-art technical innovation.” 

Michael Köhler, Head of System Development,
on working with kumkeo

© 2016 kumkeo GmbH

kumkeo auf LinkedIn kumkeo auf XING Privacy Imprint

Bei kumkeo treffen Sie Experten mit langjähriger fachlicher Erfahrung. Von der Qualität unserer Arbeit können Sie sich schon im ersten Gespräch mit uns überzeugen.

Was wir versprechen, realisieren wir auch. Für Entwicklungsvorhaben übernehmen wir die Systemverantwortung von Beginn an. Mit praxisnahen Konzepten stehen wir Ihnen sowohl in der Projektplanung als auch in allen Phasen der Umsetzung zur Seite. Dabei arbeiten wir auf Basis fundierter Expertise in zielgenauer Abstimmung mit Ihren Anforderungen.

Wir geben Ihnen mehr als eine technische Leistung. Neben unserem IT-Know-how liegt unsere besondere Stärke in der Erarbeitung von Lösungswegen durch eine effiziente und klare Kommunikation.

Umgebungserkennung: Softwareoptimierung für Laserscanner

Der Kunde:
Ibeo Automotive Systems GmbH

Ibeo Automotive Systems ist Marktführer in der Entwicklung von High-Tech-Laserscannern zur Umgebungserkennung für die Automobilindustrie.

Zum Leistungsportfolio gehören innovative Fahrerassistenz- und aktive Sicherheitssysteme wie autonomes Fahren, automatischer Notbremsassistent, adaptive Geschwindigkeitsregelung sowie Pre-Crash-Applikationen.

Unsere Leistungen:

  • Optimierung der zentralen Visualisierungssoftware Ibeo Laser View (ILV)
  • Weiterentwicklung der Test- und Entwicklungswerkzeuge
  • Entwicklung des Ibeo Software Development Kits

Die Software Ibeo Laser View (ILV) dient der Darstellung von Rohmessdaten („Scanpunkte“) und Objektinformationen zum Testen und Analysieren. Unsere Leistung umfasste in erster Linie die Entwicklung von Algorithmen zum Ermitteln der statischen Umgebung und des Freiraums sowie einer nachgelagerten Verdeckungserkennung von sich bewegenden Objekten.

Bild SW

 

Die Abbildung stellt eine typische Verkehrsszene mit den vom Laserscanner und den darauf laufenden Algorithmen erzeugten Daten dar. Das Videobild links oben zeigt das Szenario aus Fahrersicht. Sämtliche Informationen in der Vogelperspektivdarstellung werden aus den Laserscanner-Messdaten in Echtzeit erzeugt. Das eigene Fahrzeug befindet sich hier im Ursprung des Koordinatensystems (Schnittpunkt der rechtwinkligen roten und grünen Achsen).

Zu unseren Aufgaben gehörte außerdem die Umsetzung zahlreicher Neuerungen wie das Labeln von Objekten, das Anbinden neuer Sensoren oder das Umstellen des CAN-Interfaces. Im Anschluss daran haben wir die Test- und Entwicklungswerkzeuge für die Software ILV ausgebaut und das Ibeo Software Development Kit weiterentwickelt, das als Verbindungsschicht zwischen den Ibeo-Sensoren und Frameworks genutzt wird und die Erstellung eigener Algorithmen ermöglicht.

Realisiert wurde das Projekt unter Verwendung von C++, C, boost, Qt (OpenGL) und bash-Scripten. Als Entwicklungsumgebung wurden Eclipse unter Linux mit gcc und make und Visual Studio 2008/2010/2012 unter Windows für beide Plattformen mit CMake und make eingesetzt.

„Seit 2011 arbeiten wir mit dem Team von kumkeo eng zusammen. Bei unserer Suche nach qualifizierten und hoch spezialisierten Softwareentwicklern konnten wir uns immer auf die persönliche Beratung sowie eine zuverlässige und schnelle Dienstleistung von kumkeo verlassen. Gerade die Kompetenz von kumkeo, uns solche Entwickler zu vermitteln, die nicht nur die gewünschten Spezial-Kenntnisse besitzen, sondern sich auch voll in unser Unternehmen integrieren, schätzen wir sehr. Und das passt einfach gut zu uns – denn auch bei uns werden neben neuesten technologischen Innovationen auch Dienstleistungen und Kundenorientierung groß geschrieben.“

Michael Köhler, Head of System Development
über die Zusammenarbeit mit kumkeo

© 2016 kumkeo GmbH

kumkeo auf LinkedIn kumkeo auf XING Datenschutzerklärung Impressum